Regardless of your age, you cannot drive alone with a learner’s permit. An experienced, licensed driver must always accompany you. No matter what your age, you cannot drive on your own.
Check out our featured article on the best car insurance for young drivers.
Ready to take your driving test?
Here are a few rules for driving with a permit that all drivers (and parents) should know. You must remember that even though you’ve learned how to drive, it’s beneficial to have your parents ride along as you gain experience, confidence, and knowledge that can only be gained from hours of real-world driving.
When can you drive alone with a permit?
Currently, there is no state in which you can apply to get your driver’s license without first learning how to drive. All you have to do is meet with the DMV to get your permit.
If it’s permitted in your state, and you have a licensed driver over 21 in the passenger seat, you can transport your siblings to soccer practice in your car. Additionally, you should not have more than three passengers under the age of 18, but your parents can count as passengers.
You can expect to pay a hefty fine if you’re caught driving without a license.
Unlicensed driving is illegal. Are you sure driving with a license is legal? Did you make a mistake or is this a hypothetical question?
Some jurisdictions count this citation as a driving infraction that could postpone when you can get your license.
If you have a permit but get into an accident while driving, you’ll likely have to pay out-of-pocket for damages. And unfortunately, your insurance likely won’t cover an unlicensed driver.
If you want to avoid fines and problems with your driver’s license, follow these rules for driving with your permit in your state.
Are there any other requirements for driving with a permit?
You must always have a experienced driver in the passenger seat. Their job is to provide you with advice and help on the side of the road to prepare you for the experience of driving alone. If you are required by your state to have insurance coverage, consult our article on learner’s permit insurance to learn more.
In most states, the accompanying driver must be 21 years old and have a valid driver’s license. Some states have other requirements for accompanying, like years of driving experience.
In Montana, North Dakota, and Wyoming, 18-year olds are allowed to legally possess and drive a car when an adult is with them. However, in Maine, the accompanying driver must be at least 20 years old.
While driving with a learner’s permit, the following states require you to have a fully-licensed driver, who is at least 25 years of age, in the passenger seat:
These states require the accompanying driver to be a parent, legal guardian, or certified driving instructor:
Several states require teachers and students to have between one and five years of driving experience.
With a learner’s license, the number of passengers a driver can have is usually limited. There are usually restrictions on the number of passengers a new driver can have and how many miles they can drive with passengers in the car.
Check with your state’s requirements for who can ride along with you when you drive after you obtain your learner’s permit, especially when it comes to your auto insurance.
It is illegal to drive alone with a permit. Even if you do not feel comfortable driving with someone (over 21), you must always have an adult with you. When you drive a car before you have your license, you’re considered an unlicensed driver and could face fines or citations.
Learn about your state’s rules so you can avoid fines for traveling with a learner’s permit. This will also help you maintain your insurance coverage, so you can keep yourself and other drivers safe.